An attacker in an offside position receives the ball from a defender's deflection. Is this considered an offside offense?

Prepare for the Grassroots Referee Recertification Test with our comprehensive quiz. Study with our multiple choice questions and detailed explanations to ensure you’re ready for recertification. Boost your confidence and improve your skills!

When an attacker in an offside position receives the ball after a defender's deflection, this situation is not considered an offside offense because the touch from the defender is deemed an unintentional play of the ball. According to the laws of the game, a player cannot be penalized for being in an offside position if they receive the ball directly from an opponent who is not attempting to deliberately play the ball. A deflection is usually considered to fit this criteria, meaning the defender did not intentionally pass or play the ball to the attacker.

The other options suggest scenarios where offside might have been applied. For instance, simply being in an offside position does not automatically mean an offense is incurred, nor does it matter if the player interferes with the opponent as long as the ball came from an opponent's deflection. The distinction lies in the nature of how the ball is played, highlighting the fact that a deliberate play versus an accidental touch by a defender changes the ruling on offside.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy