During the taking of a penalty kick, the goalkeeper commits an offense that does NOT impact the attacker and the kick is missed. What is the decision by the referee?

Prepare for the Grassroots Referee Recertification Test with our comprehensive quiz. Study with our multiple choice questions and detailed explanations to ensure you’re ready for recertification. Boost your confidence and improve your skills!

In this scenario, the goalkeeper's offense, while occurring during the penalty kick, does not affect the outcome of the kick itself. According to the Laws of the Game, if a goalkeeper commits a violation (such as moving off the goal line too early) that does not interfere with the kick but the penalty kick is missed, the referee has the authority to decide whether to allow the kick to stand or to enforce the appropriate penalty.

Since the kick was taken and missed, and the goalkeeper's offense does not impact the attacker or the outcome, the referee would award a goal kick if the ball goes out of play directly or if the ball remains in play and is subsequently played by a defender who causes it to go out. This means the game continues normally under the rules that govern play, and the proper restart is a goal kick when it is appropriate given the situations presented.

In contrast, re-taking the penalty kick is not warranted since there was no interference that impacted the attacker or the execution of the penalty kick itself. Other restart options such as a corner kick or a free kick to the attacking team would not apply because the circumstances do not align with those laws either. The correct outcome is thus a goal kick as it fits the criteria given the situation described

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy