If a player taking a kick-off stands in the opponent's half and scores directly into their goal, what should the referee do?

Prepare for the Grassroots Referee Recertification Test with our comprehensive quiz. Study with our multiple choice questions and detailed explanations to ensure you’re ready for recertification. Boost your confidence and improve your skills!

In soccer, the Laws of the Game state that a goal can only be scored directly from a kick-off if the player is in their own half when the ball is played. However, the key detail in this situation is that the ball must be played from the center spot, which is considered neutral ground, ensuring that neither team has an advantage or disadvantage regarding scoring the goal.

When a player takes a kick-off, the intention is to restart the game at the beginning of a half or after a goal has been scored. If a player manages to score directly from a kick-off while standing in the opponent’s half, this scenario typically is not valid because the player should be positioned in their own half at the moment of the kick-off.

In this specific question, if the goal was scored directly from the opponent’s half during a kick-off, the Laws would actually not allow this goal to stand. Therefore, the correct protocol for this situation would involve assessing that the goal is not valid, which typically leads to awarding a free kick to the opponents from the center spot. The primary focus is ensuring that the kick-off adheres to the rules that emphasize fair play and proper positioning during restarts.

Thus, if a player is in the opponent’s

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy