If the ball accidentally touches the attacker's hand or arm and goes to a teammate who scores a goal, what should the referee decide?

Prepare for the Grassroots Referee Recertification Test with our comprehensive quiz. Study with our multiple choice questions and detailed explanations to ensure you’re ready for recertification. Boost your confidence and improve your skills!

If the ball accidentally touches the attacker's hand or arm and then goes to a teammate who scores, the referee should allow the goal to stand. According to the Laws of the Game, specifically the guidance on handling, a goal should only be disallowed if the handball is deliberate or if the ball strikes a player's arm or hand and then directly leads to a goal. In this situation, since the initial touch was accidental and the player did not gain an unfair advantage, the objective of the game—to encourage scoring—takes precedence.

The decision to allow the goal is also influenced by the understanding that unintentional handball does not constitute a foul, and as such, play continues as normal. Each rule's implementation focuses on ensuring the spirit of the game is upheld, prioritizing fair play where no advantage was gained through the accidental contact. Therefore, a clear understanding of what constitutes a deliberate act versus an accidental one is crucial for the correct application of the rules.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy