Is a deliberate handball by a defending player considered in the offside decision?

Prepare for the Grassroots Referee Recertification Test with our comprehensive quiz. Study with our multiple choice questions and detailed explanations to ensure you’re ready for recertification. Boost your confidence and improve your skills!

In the context of offside laws, a deliberate handball by a defending player is indeed considered a deliberate play. According to the Laws of the Game, being in an offside position is influenced by an opponent’s play of the ball, which includes actions like a deliberate touch or control of the ball. When a defending player deliberately handles the ball, it counts as their play of the ball, thus negating any prior offside position that the attacking player may have held. Therefore, if an attacking player is in an offside position but the defending player deliberately handles the ball, the offside rule no longer applies because the ball is not being played by a defender in the traditional sense.

Understanding this interaction is crucial because it highlights how active involvement in the game affects the offside rule. This nuance is often tested in scenarios where the action of a defender can change the dynamics of play, highlighting the importance of recognizing intentional actions during match officiating.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy