What is a double touch violation?

Prepare for the Grassroots Referee Recertification Test with our comprehensive quiz. Study with our multiple choice questions and detailed explanations to ensure you’re ready for recertification. Boost your confidence and improve your skills!

A double touch violation occurs when a player touches the ball twice in succession during a restart, such as a kick-off, goal kick, or throw-in. According to the Laws of the Game, a player is only allowed to touch the ball once at a restart scenario before another player touches it. If a player inadvertently or deliberately touches the ball again before another player does, it results in a double touch violation, and the opposing team is awarded an indirect free kick from the spot. This rule is in place to maintain fairness and orderly play by preventing an individual player from gaining an unfair advantage by controlling the ball too much at a restart.

Other options describe different scenarios: kicking the ball twice in succession is not a defined violation, while dribbling the ball too many times is not regulated in this manner as players are free to dribble as needed within the Laws of the Game. Touching the ball with two feet doesn’t constitute a violation unless it’s done within specific contexts like a throw-in or during other restricted actions.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy