What is required before a goal can be scored directly from a throw-in?

Prepare for the Grassroots Referee Recertification Test with our comprehensive quiz. Study with our multiple choice questions and detailed explanations to ensure you’re ready for recertification. Boost your confidence and improve your skills!

To score a goal directly from a throw-in is not permitted under the Laws of the Game. When a player takes a throw-in to put the ball back into play, it must first touch another player or the ground before a goal can be scored. This rule is in place to ensure that throw-ins are conducted fairly and to promote active play, preventing any potential misuse of the throw-in to gain an unfair advantage.

This understanding aligns with the Laws of the Game, which specify how play should resume after the ball has gone out of bounds. Consequently, options that suggest the possibility of scoring from a throw-in, such as requiring the ball to touch another player or travel a certain distance, are based on misunderstandings of the rules regarding throw-ins. Thus, knowing that a goal cannot be scored directly from a throw-in is crucial for anyone involved in officiating or understanding the game.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy