What is the consequence for a goalkeeper who handles the ball after a goal kick without it being in play?

Prepare for the Grassroots Referee Recertification Test with our comprehensive quiz. Study with our multiple choice questions and detailed explanations to ensure you’re ready for recertification. Boost your confidence and improve your skills!

When a goalkeeper handles the ball after a goal kick has been taken but before it is deemed in play, the appropriate consequence is an indirect free kick for the opposing team. When a goal kick is executed, the ball must leave the penalty area to be considered in play. If the goalkeeper touches the ball before the ball has exited the area, this is considered a violation of the rules governing the restart of play following a goal kick.

An indirect free kick is awarded for this infraction because it's not directly leading to a penalty situation or a serious foul play but rather a procedural mistake. This allows the opposing team to have an opportunity to restart the game from the location where the goalkeeper handled the ball.

The emphasis on the ball being out of play until it has left the penalty area reflects the rules governing goal kicks, ensuring the game flows fairly and appropriately in line with the Laws of the Game.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy