What is the correct procedure when the ball strikes a referee and remains in play?

Prepare for the Grassroots Referee Recertification Test with our comprehensive quiz. Study with our multiple choice questions and detailed explanations to ensure you’re ready for recertification. Boost your confidence and improve your skills!

When the ball strikes a referee and remains in play, the game continues without interruption. This is because the Laws of the Game stipulate that a referee is considered part of the field of play. As long as the ball touches the referee and does not lead to a stop in the play (such as resulting in a foul, or if the ball goes out of play), the game should carry on as normal.

This principle reinforces the understanding of the referee's role on the pitch and maintains the flow of the game, allowing teams to play without unnecessary stops unless a specific infringement occurs. In situations like these, the referee has the discretion to let the play continue if it does not affect the action significantly.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy