What is the referee's decision if a defender inside the penalty area strikes an attacker after the ball has gone out of play?

Prepare for the Grassroots Referee Recertification Test with our comprehensive quiz. Study with our multiple choice questions and detailed explanations to ensure you’re ready for recertification. Boost your confidence and improve your skills!

When the ball has truly gone out of play, the game is effectively paused, and the laws of the game dictate that any infractions or misconduct that occurs at this moment are judged differently than if the game were still in motion. If a defender strikes an attacker after the ball has gone out of play, the primary action taken by the referee would be to recognize the end of play due to the ball being out.

In this scenario, allowing play to continue with a goal kick is incorrect because the referee must address the action that has taken place after the ball is out. The situation must be handled appropriately, as the defender's action is considered misconduct.

Thus, the correct response highlights that when a defender commits an offense such as striking an opponent after the ball is out of play, the referee should take disciplinary action. This typically involves issuing a card, either yellow or red, based on the severity of the offense, rather than allowing the game to continue. Therefore, the decision is not simply about giving a goal kick; it revolves around managing the misconduct that has occurred during a stoppage in play.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy