What kind of kick is awarded when a defender commits a foul that results in the ball going out of bounds?

Prepare for the Grassroots Referee Recertification Test with our comprehensive quiz. Study with our multiple choice questions and detailed explanations to ensure you’re ready for recertification. Boost your confidence and improve your skills!

A goal kick is awarded when the last touch on the ball before it goes out of bounds was by an attacking player. However, if a defender commits a foul leading to the ball going out of bounds, a different scenario is at play.

In this case, if the ball goes out of bounds due to a defender's foul, the game typically resumes with an indirect free kick for the opposing team, depending on the nature of the foul. For example, if the defender committed a foul within their own penalty area that led to the ball going out, the correct restart would not be a goal kick but an indirect free kick awarded to the attacking team, placed at the point of the foul or wherever the ball went out.

Additionally, a corner kick would apply only if the last touch was from a defender, and the ball went out of bounds over the goal line but not into the goal. A throw-in is given when the ball crosses the sideline, also not directly related to a foul by a defender leading to the ball going out. Thus, the most appropriate answer to consider in similar real-game scenarios would not affirm a goal kick as the correct restart method following a defender's foul causing the ball to go out of bounds.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy