When can the goalkeeper legally handle the ball during a game?

Prepare for the Grassroots Referee Recertification Test with our comprehensive quiz. Study with our multiple choice questions and detailed explanations to ensure you’re ready for recertification. Boost your confidence and improve your skills!

The goalkeeper is allowed to handle the ball within their penalty area at all times during the game. This rule is fundamental to the position of the goalkeeper in soccer and provides them with specific privileges that other players do not have. Handling the ball within the confines of the penalty area allows the goalkeeper to make plays and intervene in situations to prevent the opposing team from scoring.

While it is also true that goalkeepers can occasionally handle the ball when it is passed to them by a teammate or during certain set plays (like goal kicks or throw-ins), these situations are more restricted compared to the general allowance they have within their designated area. For instance, handling a back pass from a teammate results in an indirect free kick for the opposing team, indicating that there are more nuanced rules concerning when other players can play the ball to the goalkeeper. However, within their penalty area, the goalkeeper has the freedom to legally handle the ball regardless of how it comes to them, making option A the definitive choice regarding when a goalkeeper can legally handle the ball during a game.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy