Which of the following ARE NOT considered offside offenses when the attacker is in an offside position at the moment when the ball was played or touched by a teammate?

Prepare for the Grassroots Referee Recertification Test with our comprehensive quiz. Study with our multiple choice questions and detailed explanations to ensure you’re ready for recertification. Boost your confidence and improve your skills!

The correct understanding is that while an attacker may be in an offside position, not all actions taken by that attacker constitute an offside offense. The conditions outlined in the Law of the Game specify certain actions that trigger an offside infraction.

Interfering with an opponent, gaining an advantage, and blocking the goalkeeper are indeed actions that can lead to an offside offense if they occur while the attacker is in an offside position. When an attacker is in an offside position and either interferes with an opponent's ability to play the ball or blocks the goalkeeper's vision or movement, these actions directly affect the play and can therefore be penalized.

However, since the question asks which actions are NOT considered offside offenses, options A, B, and C do not fit this criteria. The “D. All of the above are offside offenses” choice incorrectly suggests that there are no relevant exceptions to these actions, which leads to confusion.

A correct answer would clarify that an attacker in an offside position only commits an offense if they actively interfere with play or opponents, and it is those actions – rather than merely being in an offside position – that lead to an offense being called.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy