Which of the following situations would result in a penalty kick being awarded?

Prepare for the Grassroots Referee Recertification Test with our comprehensive quiz. Study with our multiple choice questions and detailed explanations to ensure you’re ready for recertification. Boost your confidence and improve your skills!

A handball in the defensive penalty area is a situation that directly leads to a penalty kick being awarded. According to the Laws of the Game, if a player commits a handball offense inside their own penalty area, the opposing team is granted a penalty kick. This is because the handball is considered a serious infraction that prevents a clear opportunity to score, making the sanction of a penalty kick appropriate to uphold the fairness of the game.

In contrast, an offside call results in an indirect free kick being awarded to the opposing team rather than a penalty kick. Similarly, a throw-in violation leads to a throw-in for the opposing team and not a penalty kick, and an indirect free kick offense requires that the free kick be taken from where the offense occurred, rather than granting a penalty kick. Thus, penalties are specifically reserved for certain offenses within the penalty area, with handballs being one of the clear cases that invoke this punishment.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy