Which of the following situations might lead to a penalty kick being awarded?

Prepare for the Grassroots Referee Recertification Test with our comprehensive quiz. Study with our multiple choice questions and detailed explanations to ensure you’re ready for recertification. Boost your confidence and improve your skills!

A penalty kick is awarded when a foul occurs inside the penalty area by the defending team. In this context, the scenario of a foul by the goalkeeper inside the penalty area is key because goalkeepers have unique responsibilities and restrictions within their own penalty area. If the goalkeeper commits a foul, such as tripping an opponent, handling the ball unfairly, or engaging in reckless behavior, the referee will award a penalty kick to the attacking team as a direct consequence of that misconduct.

The other situations listed do not meet the criteria for a penalty kick: a foul occurring outside the penalty area does not result in a penalty kick; dissent by the coach is typically addressed with a caution or ejection but does not affect the game play directly—not resulting in a penalty; and offside by the attacking team leads to an indirect free kick for the defending team rather than a penalty kick. Thus, the only circumstance here that justifies a penalty kick being awarded is indeed the foul committed by the goalkeeper within the penalty area.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy